Tennis 2 years ago

Hopman Cup 2017: Australia looking to go back to back

  • Hopman Cup 2017: Australia looking to go back to back

    PERTH, AUSTRALIA - JANUARY 09: Daria Gavrilova and Nick Kyrgios of Australia Green pose with the Hopman Cup after winning the final against Elina Svitolina and Alexandr Dolgopolov of the Ukraine during day seven of the 2016 Hopman Cup at Perth Arena on January 9, 2016 in Perth, Australia. (Photo by Paul Kane/Getty Images)

The Australian summer of tennis is finally almost here. But before the first Grand Slam of the year kicks off, there are several lead up tournaments for tennis fans to feast their eyes on, beginning with the Hopman Cup.

Taking place from January 1 to January 7, this year’s Hopman Cup promises to be one of the best yet, with a star studded field.

In its 29th year, the two-person team format is the perfect tune up for players in the lead up for the Aus Open, with a guaranteed three singles matches.

You might also like

This year, Roger Federer joins the field for the first time, teaming up with Belinda Bencic for Switzerland.

Besides the Swiss, France (Richard Gasquet, Kristina Mladenovic), Germany (Alexander Zverev, Andrea Petkovic) and Great Britain (Dan Evans, Heather Watson) also feature in Group A.

Group B is headlined by Australian’s Nick Kyrgios and Daria Gavrilova. The Aussies will be battling the Czech Republic (Adam Pavlasek, Petra Kvitova), Spain (Feliciano Lopez, Lara Arruabarrena) and the United States (Jack Sock, Coco Vandeweghe) for a spot in the final.

Switzerland are the obvious favourites at $3.00, thanks to the inclusion of Roger Federer, while the home side, in Australia, are second favourite to win the title, paying $3.75 for the win (odds provided by CrownBet).

France ($6.50) and the USA ($8.00) are on the third and fourth line of betting respectively.

Kyrgios and Gavrilova are the reigning champions, winning Australia’s second Hopman Cup in 2016, defeating the Ukraine two rubbers to love.

The USA have dominated the event over the years, winning six title from 11 finals appearances.

0 0
please wait...